I will shine. Will you?


Study, Shine, Be an Example

Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth. | 2 Timothy 2:15

But the path of the just is as the shining light, that shineth more and more unto the perfect day. | Proverbs 4:18

many shall run to and fro, and knowledge shall be increased. | Daniel 12:4

And they that be wise shall shine as the brightness of the firmament; and they that turn many to righteousness as the stars for ever and ever. | Daniel 12:3

It does not just happen. God isn’t going to just give you something you don’t work for. But, if you study, look for God, put away sin in all its forms and ask for forgiveness, as Daniel did, as king David would do, among many others, then you will receive light. Some will have a greater light than others. Regardless of  amount, yes, it is wise to share and put to practice what you know. In these last days, yes, if you study the complete accuracy of prophecy, you will know we are with no question in the last times, knowledge will and is increasing.

But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin. If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.  If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1 John 1:7-9

I was told once, when I was just getting back into looking into the Bible, and had just started participating in Bible studies with a good group, yet  had to cut them short due to a move, “to start something”. To begin a Bible study, to do it whatever way I could. I do not consider myself an expert in every topic of the Bible, but, I know I have a responsibility to share what I know. And as I’ve shared, I have learned even more. Lets look at some examples of what Jesus taught regarding light.

Where does this light come from?

Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path. | Psalm 119:105

For thou art my lamp, O LORD: and the LORD will lighten my darkness. | 2 Samuel 22:29

The entrance of thy words giveth light; it giveth understanding unto the simple. | Psalm 119:130

The Light of the world Taught

Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life. | John 8:12

Then Jesus said unto them, Yet a little while is the light with you. Walk while ye have the light, lest darkness come upon you: for he that walketh in darkness knoweth not whither he goeth. While ye have light, believe in the light, that ye may be the children of light.These things spake Jesus, and departed, and did hide himself from them. | John 12:35:36

Then said Jesus to those Jews which believed on him, If ye continue in my word, then are ye my disciples indeed; And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. | John 8:31,32

Ye are the salt of the earth: but if the salt have lost his savour, wherewith shall it be salted? it is thenceforth good for nothing, but to be cast out, and to be trodden under foot of men. Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on an hill cannot be hid.  Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushelbut on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven. | Matthew 5:13-16

What else can be said?

For the commandment is a lamp; and the law is light; and reproofs of instruction are the way of life: | Proverbs 6:23

Leave a comment