God of Mercy | Tell somebody!


Notice: This message is not so that we may preach destruction. However, according to the examples you will read about this is surely coming, for some. The point is to as Seventh-Day Adventists, focus on our family and friends who do not know of the “everlasting gospel” We NEED to act now. We NEED to share this message with our close friends and families, even now. As you read, you will understand the will of God is that ALL BE SAVED. Not some. Will you cooperate with God? 

When you hear God’s word

Do you remember Noah? 120 years, preaching, warning, and then the flood came and wiped all out. So many should have been saved. You remember Lot? He tried to tell, even his own family, to leave Sodom, but they made fun of him, and then destruction came. They could have listened, chosen better. But theres hope 🙂 Jonah preached to a pagan Ninevah, and they repented. Destruction was at the door, and they repented, and changed, saving the entire city. Thats the goal, while there is time.

The thing that hath been, it is that which shall be; and that which is done is that which shall be done: and there is no new thing under the sun.” – Ecclesiastes 1:9 KJV

Say unto them, As I live, saith the Lord GOD, I have no pleasure in the death of the wicked; but that the wicked turn from his way and live: turn ye, turn ye from your evil ways; for why will ye die, O house of Israel?” – Ezekiel 33:11 KJV

“For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Saviour; Who will have all men to be saved, and to come unto the knowledge of the truth.- 1 Timothy 2:3-4 KJV

Think about the words these messages contained, too, in each example. Think about the sins going on at each time. Controversial, I’m sure. Yet their necesity to be taken seriously, and not hindered, was of utmost importance. We need to be open minded, and not so easily offended. It may be, that even your life, is at stake. The goal is that all be saved 🙂 And so listening, and action, decision, IS required.

But if the wicked will turn from all his sins that he hath committed, and keep all my statutes, and do that which is lawful and right, he shall surely live, he shall not die. All his transgressions that he hath committed, they shall not be mentioned unto him: in his righteousness that he hath done he shall live. Have I any pleasure at all that the wicked should die? saith the Lord GOD: and not that he should return from his ways, and live?” – Ezekiel 18:21-23 KJV

To the one who claims being a follower of God

So where does that leave the Bible student? The church goer? The one who claims they know or love God?

“Son of man, I have made thee a watchman unto the house of Israel: therefore hear the word at my mouth, and give them warning from me.” – Ezekiel 3:17 KJV

Remember, history repeats. There is a great event coming, and it is our responsibility to help prepare the way, and be witnesses for Christ, giving testimony. Thats an action word.  Some have given excuses, but we find what God does.

Making excuses?

Then said I, Ah, Lord GOD! behold, I cannot speak: for I am a child. But the LORD said unto me, Say not, I am a child: for thou shalt go to all that I shall send thee, and whatsoever I command thee thou shalt speak. Be not afraid of their faces: for I am with thee to deliver thee, saith the LORD. Then the LORD put forth his hand, and touched my mouth. And the LORD said unto me, Behold, I have put my words in thy mouth. See, I have this day set thee over the nations and over the kingdoms, to root out, and to pull down, and to destroy, and to throw down, to build, and to plant.” – Jeremiah 1:6-10 KJV

Are you ready?

Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, Whom shall I send, and who will go for us? Then said I, Here am I; send me.” – Isaiah 6:8 KJV

But some of us, may be like Jonah.

Now the word of the LORD came unto Jonah the son of Amittai, saying, Arise, go to Nineveh, that great city, and cry against it; for their wickedness is come up before me. But Jonah rose up to flee unto Tarshish from the presence of the LORD, and went down to Joppa; and he found a ship going to Tarshish: so he paid the fare thereof, and went down into it, to go with them unto Tarshish from the presence of the LORD.” – Jonah 1:1-3 KJV

Relevance

And, behold, I come quickly; and my reward is with me, to give every man according as his work shall be.” – Revelation 22:12 KJV

Do you believe Jesus is coming back soon? I do. I know it. As prophecies were correct, and fulfilled in even the smallest of details, then you better count on them being accurate a second time.

Lets review. Some of us may be making excuses, like Jeremiah. Yet God was with him, and he delivered the message needed. Do you think that was easy? We have the example of Isaiah. He was ready to go. I like his answer. Some of us are like Jonah. We know what is about to happen, have a messaged entrusted to us, and we run. Or flee to the world. We’ll do whatever to get away. You know, these messages are of utmost importance. We cannot afford to run.

This is where you need to think of your loved ones. Your family. Your friends. Do you want them, at the end, asking, “why didn’t you tell me?” Is it a possibility, that God has placed you in their path, so to work as an instrument towards their accepting salvation in Jesus Christ? Yes, that is exactly why you know the people you do.

In the beginning verses, it is made clear, that God desires everyone to be saved.

Results

I strongly recommend you read Jonah chapter 3. I will share the highlights.

And the word of the LORD came unto Jonah the second time, saying, Arise, go unto Nineveh, that great city, and preach unto it the preaching that I bid thee. So Jonah arose, and went unto Nineveh, according to the word of the LORD. Now Nineveh was an exceeding great city of three days’ journey.” – Jonah 3:1-3 KJV

  • Verse 4, Jonah preaches a message of warning
  • Verse 5, The people of Nineveh believed God
  • Verse 6, Even the king heard, and took immediate action
  • Verse 7, made a proclamation throughout the entire city
  • Verse 8, of repentance. Of change. Of crying out to God
  • Verse 9, they looked for mercy
  • Verse 10, they got it.

And God saw their works, that they turned from their evil way; and God repented of the evil, that he had said that he would do unto them; and he did it not.” – Jonah 3:10 KJV

History Repeats

Remember, Jesus is coming back to reward every man according to all his works. Those listening, would do good to follow the example of a pagan Nineveh. This city was very evil, more so than many present. What an example of character on their part. What an example of God’s mercy.

So, God came the first time.

As it is written in the prophets, Behold, I send my messenger before thy face, which shall prepare thy way before thee.” – Mark 1:2 KJV

“This is he, of whom it is written, Behold, I send my messenger before thy face, which shall prepare thy way before thee. For I say unto you, Among those that are born of women there is not a greater prophet than John the Baptist: but he that is least in the kingdom of God is greater than he.” – Luke 7:27, 28 KJV

John was to prepare the way for Jesus’ first coming. And we, I say this out of all humbleness. We… you, Seventh-Day Adventist, are supposed to prepare the way for the second coming. Are you running away? Are you making excuses? Are you ready?

For the hour of His judgement is come… -Revelation 14:7

To both the follower of God, and the one who may be listening to that person

So thou, O son of man, I have set thee a watchman unto the house of Israel; therefore thou shalt hear the word at my mouth, and warn them from me. When I say unto the wicked, O wicked man, thou shalt surely die; if thou dost not speak to warn the wicked from his way, that wicked man shall die in his iniquity; but his blood will I require at thine hand. Nevertheless, if thou warn the wicked of his way to turn from it; if he do not turn from his way, he shall die in his iniquity; but thou hast delivered thy soul.” – Ezekiel 33:7-9 KJV

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” – John 3:16 KJV

Leave a comment